Pancake Day

Saturday is pancake day around here, except for the days I do something even more fun, like jelly doughnuts.  Since it is still Easter season, we’re a bit more liberal with the sweets, so, today it was pancakes with chocolate chips.  The big kids each got a Mickey Mouse pancake (chocolate chips make great eyes and mouths), and as many regular round ones as they could eat.  I also added some raspberries to the recipe, which worked pretty well.  I could have gotten away with more, but the subtle raspberry flavor worked well with the chocolate.  Here’s my general recipe/procedure (more or less):

9-10 oz whole wheat flour
6 grams (max) leavening: baking soda/baking powder [If I use something more acidic, like yogurt, for the liquid, it’s more baking soda. If I just use milk, then it’s more baking powder.]
8 grams salt
100 grams flax seed meal
25 grams vanilla powder (optional).
Mix these with a fork or whisk to combine.
1 oz butter, melted and cooled
Mix into the dry mixture
2 eggs, lightly beaten
Enough milk product (milk, yogurt, kefir, buttermilk) to make a batter. [I’ve never actually measured.]
Mix the eggs and milk into the drys (which now has the melted butter).
Spoon onto hot griddle, cook on the first side until the edges look dry and bubbles pop and leave holes on the top. Flip, and cook until done.

Today I added about 10 g of lemon juice and about 1/4 cup frozen raspberries, which I thawed and mashed. I could have doubled the raspberries. Given the lemon juice and raspberries, I used all milk and mainly baking soda.

End result:Raspberry Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Yum!

