Fruits of Liberia: Butter Pear

Butter Pear

These are butter pears.  Here’s a better look at one of them:

Avocado

Yep, its an avocado.  Butter pear actually makes sense, if you think about it.  It’s pear-shaped, and the flesh inside is rather buttery.  Liberians do call it avocado, but more often you hear butter pear.

It definitely isn’t a haas avocado.  We’re in peak avocado season now, I think, because the ones I’m buying are just at the point of ripeness.  They need used (or at least cut and stored) within a day or so.  This variety doesn’t seem to do so well ripening on the counter.  They stay pretty firm, and have a bitter edge to them if you buy them too early.  Not bad, and nothing a little salt can’t take care of, but the underripe ones can’t compare to the fully ripe ones.  These are perfect.

Cut AvocadoThere’s a pretty big seed inside.

Remove it the way you would with any other avocado seed.  Again, these are just perfectly ripe, so the seed came right out.

IMG_9399

This batch went in a salad, and on toast with a poached egg.  Almost eggs Benedict, but I didn’t make hollandaise.  Maybe next time.

I’ve maintained that there’s no reason Liberia should have food security issues.  You can’t keep things from growing.  Case in point:  I neglected to fully cut up an avocado seed before putting it on the compost heap.  A few weeks later, when I went to turn the pile, I saw it had sprouted.  I transplanted it, so we’ll see how it goes.

 

