Thankful

It’s been a tough several months with the Ebola evacuation. Not so much for me, but really for my family. Sure, work has been crazy (and dealing with the craziness has definitely been not fun), but really, I have to think that evacuations are hardest on the families. Especially in a situation like this, where it’s unknown when it will end, if it will end.

I’m thankful for my in-laws. They gave up their bedroom for my wife and kids. They are incredible, and a model of giving and love that I try (and often fail) to emulate. Without their support, I honestly don’t know that we would have lasted this long.

I’m thankful for my colleagues. We’ve kept each other sane (well…as sane as we ever were) with serious doses of gallows humor, and an ability to laugh at the inanity of it all.

I’m thankful for the medical and logistical support that has come in and turned the epidemic around. We’re not done with it yet, but we will be.

I’m thankful for my wife. I’m thankful that we’ve made a family together and that we are there to support each other.

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever! (Psalm 118:1)

