St. Lucy Buns

So, a day late, but, buns for St. Lucy day (December 13).  IMG_9478 IMG_9479

The recipe comes from Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads, which is a fantastic book. I’d say it’s my first stop for most bread recipes (Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book is the other one that I’ll reference on a regular basis).  Reinhart’s technique for making whole wheat/whole grain breads is very easy, as long as you plan a day in advance.  I often through together the pre-doughs the night before, after I finish dishes, then bake the next morning.

This dough came together very smoothly, and was easy to work with–not too soft, not to sticky.  Flavor wise, I think I’ll try it with saffron next time, and maybe do a little more honey in the egg wash.

Also, next time I’ll need to remember to flip one of the spirals around so the roll doesn’t look like the letter S.

