Pre-Lent Fried Foods

I don’t really have plans to fry food every day before Wednesday, but we did have doughnuts yesterday and falafel today.  Yum.  I wanted to try out a tip I read that if you use refined coconut oil to fry, your house doesn’t smell like, well, like you’ve been frying food.  The old oil smell gets tiresome after a day or so.  I’m happy to report that the coconut oil seems to have done the trick–the house doesn’t smell like I fried twice in the past 48 hours.  Maybe that’s me being delusional, but I’m going to go with it.

dsc04183

Rolled out and circles cut

dsc04184

Cutting holes…with a 1/2 Tablespoon measure

dsc04185

Back:  Oil about right, but dough too wet.  Middle:  Oil too cold, dough still too wet.  Front:  Oil nearly right, but dough too dry.

I tried to do old-fashioned sour cream doughnuts.  The recipe turned out a very, very wet dough that stuck to the parchment paper I used to roll it out and the doughnuts were a pain to put in the oil.  While wrestling with it, the oil got a little on the cold side so the second batch turned out not so great. Tasty, but not as crispy as they should be.  I got frustrated and tried to add more flour.  The result is that the doughnuts fried up OK and didn’t stick, but lacked the crannies and other irregularities that are the hallmark of an old-fashioned.  Still tasted good, though.

No pictures of the falafel, but I adapted this recipe from Serious Eats.  Instead of parsley, I used kale.  Really, really good, and, as long as you plan ahead and soak the chickpeas, relatively quick to pull together.  Frying, of course, does take some time, but it was worth it.

Now that I’ve taken care of pre-Lent indulgence, I just need to figure out what exactly it is I’m doing for Lent this year.  The good news is I’ve still got a couple of days left!

